For ACM-W Cyprus, it is of vital importance to bring together women from the area of computing in order to enhance a higher level of commitment and understanding. An ACM-W chapter enhances further engagement of women in the field of computing, advancing and advocating their presence in the area.

The ACM-W Cyprus chapter was co-founded in 2015 by Josephina Antoniou and Antigoni Parmaxi.

Our chapter has organized a number of activities to educate, support and inspire women about their opportunities in the field of computing in industry and academia, contributing to the ACM community. For example, members of our chapter have been active members and associates of hackathons and digital challenges such as NASA Space Apps Challenge, increasing the number of female participants in the past two years. Furthermore, through the promotion of these and similar events, we encouraged female students to be active participants in the computing community. Another instance of our activities is through collaborations with local events and online tools to bring together mentors and mentees. Through WomenPower community, we organized mentoring fairs,  ACM-W celebrations and workshops with inspiring talks to allow pre-college girls and female students to learn more about computing by asking local and international mentors. Through local events, we celebrated women in computing to allow inspiring women to share the personal stories and how they overcame obstacles in their professional lives. Inspiring and empowering younger members of the university to overcome difficulties and aim high.

Dr. Josephina Antoniou,
UCLan Cyprus,
Chair and Co-founder

Dr. Eleni Michaelidou,

Dr. Irene Polycarpou,
UCLan Cyprus, Treasurer

Dr. Antigoni Parmaxi,
Cyprus University of Technology,

Dr. Christina Vasiliou,
Cyprus Interaction Lab

Dr. Andri Ioannou,
Cyprus University of Technology, CYENS
Web Master

Dr. Vaso Constantinou,
Cyprus University of Technology

Dr. Despina Grigoriou (Michael),
Cyprus University of Technology

Dr. Jahna Otterbacher,
Open University of Cyprus, CYENS

Dr. Vicky Papadopoulou-Lesta,
European University Cyprus

Dr. Efi Nisiforou,
University of Nicosia

Dr. Christiana Ioannou,
University of Cyprus, CYENS

Dr. Eria Makridou,
Centre for the Advancement of Research and Development in Educational Technology (CARDET)

Christiana Varda,
Cyprus University of Technology,
Media What